Carbon fiber ukulele

Uke Republic

Reaction score
Innovative design from Blackbird Guitars. Using carbon fiber they have come up with an all weather ukulele that sounds good. Just spoke with the owner Joe Luttwak on the phone as he prepares to premier this new uke at NAMM . Lots of low end and mid range coming from this lite but sturdy instrument. Other sizes may follow but the tenor as seen on the Blackbird site will be the first. Looks like March will be the release time for it.
Awesome!
http://www.blackbirdguitar.com/pressreleases/blackbird_ukulele.html

Perhaps they can offer an endorsement deal to, say, a United Methodist pastor who has a successful ukulele ministry. :drool:

Price? Likely competitive with a K brand...

I did it! I must be in a crazy mood tonight, and you caught me. Here's what I sent:

Dear Joe, I am a United Methodist pastor who has begun a successful ukulele ministry in the local churches I serve. I am completely thrilled to see a carbon-fiber uke because I believe the use of alternative materials for musical instruments is responsible stewardship of the earth and her resources, which I see as a profound ethical and theological issue. I also have several ukulele videos available on YouTube (http://www.youtube.com/user/williedeuel), and am hoping to record an "album" for the 2010 RPM Challenge. I would love to help you promote your fabulous tenor ukulele by recording music and posting YouTube videos as well as performing with it in public, just on the off chance you would be willing to donate one to my ministry. It will not break my heart if you can't or choose not to. Just thought there was no harm in asking.

Let's see what happens!

Good luck!

Relevant_to_interests_hedgehog.jpg

As the owner of a Rainsong acoustic guitar, I've been hoping for a carbon-fiber production ukulele for a while. This one's an interesting body style, too! Dig the hollow neck.

Hope it works out for you, Will! :D