identifying fakes?

It does have the Gold Kamaka label although hard to see in the pics. It doen not appear to have a headstock sticker though. The etching on the bottom is not that cool. I couldn't tell you either way

I remember seeing this uke listed on my local Craigslist a while back. I am no expert but I don't think it is a fake but rather a Kamaka that had a piece of wood badly replaced a long time ago, when the uke was likely not worth a lot of money.

Looks real to me. I've seen a few of these with and without labels and headstock sticker. The repair might be a problem, but people are bidding on it...

I'm no expert either but I don't think it's a fake from seeing other Kamakas from the mid 1950s, right shape, location of sound hole etc. If the previous owner for any reason refinished the exterior that would explain the missing headstock waterslide decal. I don't know how easy it would be to get a gold label. I think this particular 'ukulele has lost some collector value but probably still a decent player.

Ebay Kamaka
oldkamaka.jpg

1950 soprano from Kamaka website
09a.jpg

Maybe... couple weird things about it.... bridge is not centered and top wood grain doesn't seem centered either. Did Kamaka go through a stage of lousy workmanship? Or maybe I need more coffee.... :confused: