Weird tuning problem...

steveh

Reaction score
Hiya!! First time poster here but already loving the forum!

I got a ukulele for Christmas, its only a cheap one (Ashton) but I am already loving playing it! The only problem is, getting the blooming thing in tune! Ill try and keep this a short description!

I have spent a bit of time checking out this problem, sitting with the chromatic tuner I treated myself to....

The G, E & A strings are not to bad (well, close enough considering im just starting out!) but its the C string that is giving me problems. I tune the open string to a C, and can get it spot on (with the tuner, not by ear!) but then everything seems to be one fret out?!

IE fret 2 should be a D, but its a Eb, D is found at fret 1 instead? Fret 4 should be E but instead its an F. Do i just need a new string, or is it something more sinister?

As this is the first stringed instrument I have played and its not an expensive model, I don't expect it to be spot on, but would like it to be closer than it is!

Many thanks for any input!

Steve

Steve, Are you sure you haven't tuned your "C" string to C sharp by mistake? Please don't feel insulted by the suggestion, but your problem really IS a weird one. At first I thought the slot in the nut might be too deep, and was allowing the open string to rest on the first fret. This would mean that when you tuned the "C" string, thinking it was open, it would actually be tuned to "C" at the first fret - but that would not account for it's playing "D" at fret one.

Since the other strings are OK, we can assume that the nut, the frets, and the saddle (bridge), are all in their correct places. It beats me!

The only thing I can suggest is that you treat your uke to a new set of Aquila strings, and see if that makes any difference. I had one bad string recently. All I did was take it off, and refit it the other way round - that fixed it!

For sure, a rogue string can cause very strange problems.

All the best,

John.