Some notes on dust collection

Matt Clara

UU VIP
UU VIP
Reaction score
I'm not an expert, and so I can't vouch for this article, but it is interesting and a little bit scary nonetheless. Ron S should love it! (Where's that guy been, anyway?) Also, the name of the site, Clear Vue Cyclone, makes me think the website owner may be trying to sell me some dust collection units, but no actual pitch is made. At any rate, it could be the start of an interesting discussion.

BTW, I've been using a shop vac with a hepa filter, and it's been absolutely choking on the dust I'm feeding it. Today I bought an inexpensive 650 cfm dust collector, guaranteed down to 30 micron particles. This article indicates that's not nearly enough, if my dust collector is running in my shop, as opposed to having it run outside, with duct work running back in to the machines.

My friend Sandor Nagyszalanczy is just finishing up his edits for a new edition of his classic book "Small Shop Dust Collection" for Taunton Press, the folks who publish "Fine Woodworking" and "Fine Homebuilding." Get it.

He's my uke playing partner on our swing/jazz uke project, too. Ellington, Goodman, Mercer, Weill, etc...

About a decade ago, I owned a couple of retail stores selling a famous brand of vacuum cleaners at retail. I can tell you with some authority that most of the claims of the benefits of fancy systems, such as cyclones, are total BS. Take the OP's article, written by someone trying to sell you his system, with a large grain of salt.

About a decade ago, I owned a couple of retail stores selling a famous brand of vacuum cleaners at retail. I can tell you with some authority that most of the claims of the benefits of fancy systems, such as cyclones, are total BS. Take the OP's article, written by someone trying to sell you his system, with a large grain of salt.