new uke

aussieuke

Reaction score
Hi everyone
Ive been playing the uke now for about 6 months, and love it, at the moment i only have a cheap one, as i wanted to see if i would stick to it before i got a better one. And well i have so its time to upgrade. Not to a full on expensive one just yet, but just something a little bit better than the one i have now. Just wanted to know if any one knows anything about a martin HS-O uke or greg bennets ukes. Or any one in australia know where to get a good one from, i know i can order it off the net, but i dont want to order one before picking it up and playing it, as i some ukes just dont feel right. Know what im saying. anyway any help would be great.

Have you taken a look at the Acoustic Centre in Melbourne? They seem to have a wide range of ukes.

Hi Aussieuke,

I haven't tried the Martin, but I have the Greg Bennett concert size - it's not a bad beginner's uke. You need to change the strings straight away though, as the ones it comes with sound awful. I've got Aquilas on mine now, and it sounds heaps better. I did a review in the UU Reviews section, so you can get to it here:

Greg Bennett Review

And have a click around in the reviews section as there are Kalas and Fleas reviewed, which you can sometimes find in Australia.

What part of Australia are you from? Seems like Sydney, Cairns and Melbourne have some good music stores that know about ukes. In Brisbane the best one is Arties up at Aspley. I got mine there.

If you're near Cairns, or are able to order on eBay, musiccitycairns are good (that's their eBay store name). I bought my Flea from them - very helpful and very fast in posting it and take the time to answer any questions you may have.