Hello, im new!

Futch

Reaction score
Hey there folks, im a new member, hello to you all!

I live in a dark corner of England known as Cornwall.

I dont own a ukulele at the moment, although i have been playing guitar and bass for many years, although musical inspiration is running somewhat dry with these instruments. I am really keen on getting a uke to expand my musicality and escape guitar drudgery.

I would like to explore and play a little fingerstyle and some leads as well as strumming, i figured the extra frets and larger scale of a tenor would make it more appropriate for my style. The only ukulele i have managed to play so far was a cheap nasty soprano, i found the scale length far too small, i have no real opportunity to go and play anything else without driving the length of the country to find a shop that stocks them.

I have my heart set on a fluke for some reason, the dollar/pound exchange rate at the moment means that i could order one relatively cheaply.

Sorry for the long first post!

welcome to UU!

For all of it's praise and all the stigmas that come with it, the Fluke is a great and very fun instrument. I love my Fluke. If you slap some Aquila strings on her she really sings! I'd also opt for the rosewood fret board. Oh, and if you're used to geared tuners, the friction tuners will show you the other meaning of fine tuning (oops, you've turned them 1mm too much! now you're 10cents sharp!).

P.S. just as a warning, the Fluke probably won't be your last uke (many, many others, including myself, will attest to having UAS - ukulele aquisition syndrome).

I do intend to get a rosewood fretboard as i would like to try out wound strings. Are the tuners that come with the koa model a significant improvement, how do they differ, are they geared?

I do intend to get a rosewood fretboard as i would like to try out wound strings. Are the tuners that come with the koa model a significant improvement, how do they differ, are they geared?