French polishing

drumgerry

Reaction score
I'm deep in the planning stage for my first ukes and inevitably my thoughts have turned to the question of finishing. I don't have a spraying set up or the wherewithal to aquire one. I have used tru oil in previous guitar projects and have once used Stewmac's Colortone waterbased laquer with foam brushes. Although these finishes are nice I want something a bit shinier for the ukes :D.

So I'm thinking about french polishing. I found this great tutorial -

http://www.milburnguitars.com/frenchpolish.html

But I have absolutely no experience of anything that has in fact been french polished. I know it is supposed to be a fragile finish but I'd like to know how fragile. Is relatively ordinary but careful use going to trash the finish? Or is it durable enough if you're not stupid with it? If I happen to bump it on something will it ding? Or worse?

Any advice appreciated.

Cheers

Gerry

I'm no expert by any means but I've tried french polishing after attending a workshop on how to do it. One of the most important things I learned is to use Everclear as your alcohol with your shellac. It has a much higher percentage percentage of alcohol and it applies better without dragging. It's very time consuming and it seems to me better to do two or three instruments at a time to make all the waiting worth while. The nice thing about FP is that it's relatively easy to touch up, which may be pretty often depending upon it's use. It's a beautiful, thin finish though. Good for you for trying it.

Just make sure you're willing to put in the time to do it right, I french polished my Uke and found myself rushing alot because I wanted it to be done.