Lanikai SM-CE : Who has it? Do you like/love/hate it?

naturalfake

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm totally new to the ukulele scene, but I decided to learn a musical instrument this year and uke seems like a good choice.

So, far I've only found 5 ukes that I can hear/strum in person. Of the 5, the SM-CE had the sweetest sound by far to my ears, however it's $399, which seems high for a beginner's uke.

Since I'm determined to learn, I don't mind paying the price if it's actually worth it. And I'll play it for a long time.

If not, I'd like to know some good sounding beginner ukes.

If you've have an SM-CE or experience of one, please post your thinking about it and maybe a mini-review. Or a good alternative,

Thanks.

I played one at guitar center. I really liked the sound of it plugged in. The acoustic sound of it was very good, though I've heard better. It was strung with High-G Aquilas so it was very loud and very clear. Seemed to have good volume but only so-so sustain. I have heard better sounding, less expensive ukuleles, but I may have more choices around here than you do. If you have to get something you've played in person it's probably a good choice. But if you're not too wary of buying on the internet there are some others that may be a better value for your dollar. I'm sure you'll be happy with it if you do buy it, though.

Last edited:
alec534,

Thanks for your reply.

If you have any suggestions for better sounding/better value ukes, I'd love to know what they are.

I don't have to get something I've played in person, over the internet is fine.

My knowledge level is low. I'm definitely a newbie, so I thought I'd see what I could find locally. I wasn't aware of a great resource like UU.

Thanks for any suggestions you have.

Alot of people on this forums would suggest a Mainland for that price. They are all solid, and come in a lot of varities.

Check it out at : www.mainlandukes.com