Makala Dolphin - sounded horrible!

SamD

Reaction score
I'm going to put my head on the line here...

I saw some Dolphins for sale in a local music shop and seeing as everyone was raving about them, I thought I'd pop in just to hear if they were as good as everyone says. The one I played sounded terrible!! The sound was ok, but the intonation was bad bad bad.

As a beginner myself, I'm not that interested in amazing sound quality - I'm lucky if I can strum my way through a song in one piece, let alone make it sound nice. But good intonation is a must. My first uke (horrid intonation) gave me little incentive to play, as each time I picked it up it made me wince with pain at how out of tune it was.

Did I just pick up a dud? Is it possible that the Dolphins on the UK market are substandard to those for sale in the US? Does anyone else out there dislike them?

*prepares for barrage of abuse...*

Not sure about others on here, but my Makala Dolphin came from MGM where he sets them up before shipping them out. I've had no intonation problems on mine.

Yea, I'm gonna have to say that the reason they are so well represented here on UU is bc most folks get them from either MGM or UkeRepublic. Both of which take time to set their ukes up and makes sure the intonation and everything else is just right before shipping them out. If it just comes out of the box from Kala, there's a good chance it wont sound very good. It will sound...well...like a $35 uke :) The Mikes make them sound much better :D

Right. Makala dolphins are mighty fine and fun ukes... but only if they're properly set up. The only ones I've played were from MGM.

Cheap ukes are notorious for lousy intonation, for some reason. So it's especially important to buy 'em from someone who will make sure you get one that's playable.

JJ

Right. Makala dolphins are mighty fine and fun ukes... but only if they're properly set up. The only ones I've played were from MGM.