Hello. Guitar to Uke(Is it an easy transition)

Leodhas

Reaction score
Hello to everyone from Scotland, I'm new here and just need a few pointers and if anyone can help me I guess it's you people.

I am a proficient guitarist and dabble in all styles. However now I want to try my hand at the uke (I'm guessing that many people make this transition).

Firstly, how hard is it to do? Is there a certain key the uke can be tuned to in order to make the transition easier?

I'm going to buy a tenor Uke as I do not want to go too small, which leads me to my second question(which must be asked often), for a proficient guitarist, which is the best Uke to buy? Obviously I don't want anything for a beginner as I intend to take it seriously and already possess a guitarists skills however the uke will not be my main instrument as I am first and foremost a guitarist. Therefore I was thinking something in the $100-200 range. However I don't know if I can get a half descent Uke for that, this is way I need your good selves to inform me.

Thank you for any help you can offer.

Moran taing.

I'm sure it's different for everyone - but I found it a very smooth transition from the guitar to the uke. Obviously it strung differently so all the chords are different - but you pick them up in no time... I started by memorizing the basic major chords first (as you know there's almost a limitless amount of songs that can be played with this alone - lol)... From there I pretty much started learning the rest of the chords when a song I was trying to play required them.

One thing I'll say about the uke - it's '7 chord' friendly instrument which I love. Not sure if this is why a lot of the old timey songs written specifically for uke seem to really favor them - but that would make sense to me.