PDA

View Full Version : Playing more than one string instrument

Valerie
05-09-2008, 04:40 PM
So... I've been playing guitar for about 9 months now and can play level 2 music (level three with much much practice.) And anyways, I picked up the guitar for the first time in three weeks. You see, ever since I got my first uke, my guitar has been thrown to the wayside.

But today I played some guitar and realized a few things:

1. Uke is much less painful to play. What I mean is when I play my guitar my whole arm hurts- my fingers, wrist, and forearm ache. I've circulation issues that make my hands go numb/achey really easily and I had forgotten in the past few weeks that playing the guitar agrivated those symptoms. The uke, however, doesn't bother me at all.

2. The guitar does sound fuller than the uke. I do love the complexity of the sound. I was actually a bit shocked when I played some of the lower notes on my guitar and could feel the vibrations through my arms.

3. I love playing music no matter the instrument. But switching between instruments in hard on my weary mind. It takes way too much thinking to remember where my fingers are suppose to go on each separt instrument. I overreach on the uke and under reach on the guitar.

So here's the thing... How do you guys split your time between string instruments? Did you stop playing other string instruments once you picked up the uke?

I myself am tempted just to stop playing the guitar and stick to the uke (at least for a while.) My arms (and especially my hands) seem to take better to the uke than the wider neck/ bigger scale of the guitar. And not having to worry about my syndrome flaring up while I play is an excellent and unexpected bonus that makes playing the ukulele that much sweeter (and I can learn to live without those sweet low notes... I hope).

seeso
05-09-2008, 06:04 PM