Grease Is the Word

Vic D

Reaction score
So, I glued up the braces on this walnut back last night and today I find a mysterious stain on it which I believe to be grease of some sort. Clues provided are... 1: My go bar deck is in the kitchen right next to the microwave. 2: There was a piece of what looks like bacon on the shelf next to said go bar deck which left a similar stain. 3: I hit it with a blow dryer and it doesn't budge.

Is this back toast?

You'll be OK if you finish the uke with grease.

Beyond that I have no experience with food products on my instruments. My first reaction might be to pour some boiling water over that area and perhaps a little soap?

So now we can add "breakfast" to the list of things that don't mix with lutherie.

Bacon makes everything better.

Could you test finish it to see if the stain comes through? If it doesn't show, sand it back to bare wood and use it.

Could you test finish it to see if the stain comes through? If it doesn't show, sand it back to bare wood and use it.

It's soaked through. I spent a few years in some body shops and that experience tells me... it's toast. I was just hopeing for some kind of miracle solvent that would extract all the grease. If I tried it I just know there would be a stain left over and probably a lot of fish eye. Bummer but we gotta move on.

Before you scrap it, try a little warm water and concentrated dish soap. That stuff is made to handle grease. If that doesn't get it all, finish it with oil.

Before you scrap it, try a little warm water and concentrated dish soap. That stuff is made to handle grease. If that doesn't get it all, finish it with oil.

Hmmm, that's a thought. If I do salvage it it will be put to use in a giveaway uke. Probably someone's christmas present lol.

Hmm, maybe you tapped into a new market. I know a lot of “starving artist" out there that would get hooked as soon as they stick their nose inside your uke.