fitting memorial song?

raecarter

Reaction score
Hi everyone unfortunately my grandad passed away this afternoon. As I'm not very good at talking to people in times like this so I'm sat on my own playing uke. I think ill record a memorial song on YouTube when I'm in a better frame of mine I'm playing blowing on the wind at the second can you think of any other fitting songs to do. I'm in the UK though so I may not know some of your suggestions. Thank you Rae

Here are some of my favorites

Life Without You - Stevie Ray Vaughan (have fun trying to arrange that for uke!)
Pilgrim - Steve Earle
Give Us Rain - Ricky Skaggs

I'm sorry for your loss. My grandpa passed away a couple of weeks ago as well. The last gift I got from him was the money for a Kanile'a superconcert I was completely floored. :(

When mom called with the news, I was actually working on a better version of "What a Wonderful World" - I just hung up the phone and completed it, this time, up to tempo, concentrate, no mistakes. Still not anything good enough to post for the world to see though.

The right song depends on what he would have liked. But Wonderful World is a bittersweet song.

I'm so sorry to hear about your loss (and Plainsong, I am sorry to hear about your grandfather as well).

A couple of my favorite songs after losing someone are:
"I'll Be There" by the Escape Club, "One More Day" by Diamond Rio, "Touched By An Angel" by Stevie Nicks, "Closer" by Barbra Striesand, and if you want a Hawaiian tinged song, there is the classic "I'll Remember You" sung by everyone from Don Ho to Tia Carrere.

We actually used the "I'll Be There" for a memorial video for my favorite aunt who passed away, and "Closer" by Barbra Striesand for my grandmother's memorial.

Again, you are in my thoughts...

Aloha Rae, deepest sympathies and condolences on your loss. Two that come to mind are "Amazing Grace", and "Somewhere over the Rainbow/What a wonderful World" the Bruddah Iz version.