B chord issues

cashew

Reaction score
ok, I admit it, I'm a uke newbie (like 2 days newbie)

How on gods green earth am I supposed to do the b-chord (and bm)? I can either bar the bottom 2 strings, or hit the top two but not both. What is the trick?

(cookies to whomever can help)
--Cashew

3 thats the b chord yea??

3 Bm??

index on the 1's, middle on the 2 and ring on the 3... its actually pretty easy, i like tabs with this chord.. just pratice dude.. or you can bar he whole fret one :D whatevers easier.

Bm - Bar fret 1 with your index and the use your ring on 3rd fret top string... practise.

Im pretty new to ukulele... i think its been like 4 months?? but just practise, IMO they are pretty easy so just practise going from like a c chord to b and bm etc..

Actually, B is 4322, and Bm is 4222, but UkuLeLesReggAe's advice is good, you should learn to "barre" these chords.

Barre chords are always the hardest chords for beginners, so don't sweat it. Everybody goes through the pain and torture of learning how to make barre chords.

Here's a picture of how I do it:

Photo78.jpg

There are two things about this method that I should point out.

1. It is not necessary to exert equal pressure on all 4 strings with the index finger. Most of the pressure is concentrated on its middle knuckle. This knuckle is pushing down the E and A strings, which are the only strings that the index finger should be concerned with.

2. The thumb should help apply pressure on the back of the ukulele's neck. A firm "pinching" technique will help immensely for barre chords. Here is a picture of the chord from above to help illustrate:

Photo81.jpg

An alternative way to make these barre chords is to barre only the E and A strings. Here's a picture:

Photo75.jpg

It may be easier for you to do it this way.