suggestions for a good beginner chord solo?

liverlipsyyz

Reaction score
hi! i've been playing for about 6 months and i'm getting pretty competent at basic strumming songs. i want to try my hand at some chord solos/instrumentals/picking stuff.

can anyone recommend a good beginner's chord solo? something where i could find the tab and an example of somebody playing the exact tab online (youtube, etc.).

i'm in to all kinds of music so the genre doesn't really matter.

i gave dominator's "no woman no cry" arrangement a shot but it was way too advanced for me.

thanks for any help!

~joel

I"m watching this because I need the same thing. I've just been playingg along to songs I already know by picking the chords. I use my thumb and middle finger to pick the 1 and 4 string together, then use my thumb for 2, pointer for 3 and middle for 4... if that makes sense.

The tab is correct, it's not in the right order or notated incorrectly, but all the notes are there. If you watch the video and follow along with the tab, you can figure it out. I was going to make a pdf of with the correct notation and the parts in the right order, but got sidetracked trying to tab out his version of Charlie Chaplin's "Smile". A UU member tabbed out a simpler version of Here Comes the Sun here. The "Sun sun sun here it comes" part is kind of tricky because it's fast and moves around the fret board a bit, but the rest is easy.

Here's a little midi file I made for a reference.

Thanks! I think I found some homework for this weekend. :)

Edit - Murphy's Law: I prefer high g, but my favorite superconcert is low G'd at the moment. Doh! It's either new string time, or use a different uke.

Last edited:
oops sorry for the late reply. yeah it's not in the right order it starts in the middle, took me a while to figure that one out:eek: