Something that looks like henna on wood?

bunnyflower

Reaction score
This may be a weird question, but I figured you guys might have all the answers!

I really want to do a custom Fluke, hopefully before this summer. I am planning on asking if they will send me the top to decorate myself, and then send it back to be put together.

I am a henna artist, and I'd really like to do henna designs all over the top. Many henna artists have used henna to decorate other things, like wooden boxes and candles. However, usually the paste is left on the item, and then sealed, not scraped off like when you apply it to skin. That wouldn't work for a uke. I have seen some henna on wood that has been scraped off, and occasionally it left an okay stain, but often it seemed to seep into the wood and spread a bit, and that is not a look I'd like! I'd want to preserve the crispness of the original design.

So, do any of you have ideas of what I might be able to use to accomplish this?

(In case you're unfamiliar with henna, it's basically a plant that is used to make a dye paste, and can stain skin for two weeks.It leaves a beautiful reddish-brown stain. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henna#Traditions_of_henna_as_body_art )

I bet you'd want a lightly colored top like spruce. I wonder if you could just use these.
0007164130075_500X500.jpg

Hehe, I do actually have a funny kind of passion for sharpies... Do you think those will look on on the wood and not spread out / look fuzzy? And take being finished afterwards okay?

Thank you for the advice!

Hehe, I do actually have a funny kind of passion for sharpies... Do you think those will look on on the wood and not spread out / look fuzzy? And take being finished afterwards okay?

Thank you for the advice!