Plight

Skitzic

Reaction score
Why is it, whenever I tell someone I play the ukulele I get the same reaction...a blank look washes over their face, they nod slightly and say in a monotone, 'a ukulele huh?'

I am new to the ukulele world. I've had an 'obsession' (I don't necessarily think it's an obsession, but my coworkers, house mates, and friends all claim it is) for about 2 months. I received my first ukulele Tuesday, and went to my first open mic earlier this afternoon. I whipped it out for a song at a gig I had on friday, but it was only one song and it had a really bad turn out so I'm not going to count that as playing it in public.

Why is it that the ukeulele is viewed as a toy? I was under the impression that fellow musicians would be able to appreciate all instruments, even if they have no instruments.

Now I hear the lead guitarist of my band called a band meeting that I was not aware of (he was at the open mic where I played the uke). He's trying to get the others to boot me out because 'I'll probably want to drag the band into the dead end folk scene.'

WTH? Now, I live in backwater PA...serious redneck-ville...so I'm not sure if this is the normal reaction to ukulele players or if it's the rednecks freaking out over something different.

Blah. I'm frustrated.

Man, if your bandmates are the kind of folks who would kick you out for playing a ukulele—on your own time, no less—then I think you need to find a new band. In my circles, people seem to find humor that I am into the uke. But not judgmentally so. Be confident, show 'em how serious an instrument it really is, and if they still laugh, then @!&%$ 'em! ;)

I think the split has been looming for awhile. I'm not sure what he wants, but it's not me in the band. It won't be any horrible loss for me, it's just frustrating I'm meeting so much resistance, from everyone. Oh well. I'm still convinced I'll convert them all...I just need to build up enough skill to crank out Hotel California.