A Question for Beginners

I was confounded how I could have gone so long without stumbling upon this lovely little instrument.

I've been playing the guitar for years, so I found it a very easy transition.

When my mom played it, she had problems getting her hands to do two different things. But she has the coordination of a blind and deaf dog.

honestly, my biggest problem so far (and i'm still very much a beginner) is getting my left hand to do what its told on the fretboard. it would be so much easier if I had two right hands.

I found the different types of tuning confusing at first. Also deciding what size and which brand of Uke would be a good first choice for me. Still struggling with how to hold the thing. I may try a strap soon!

Tom

I guess I'm a little beyond absolute beginner these days, but only a little.

I remember the things that confused me:

1) What was with that weird G string that was tuned an octave higher than nature intended?

2) How the heck do you pay an instrument that is NEVER in tune?

Fo me it was the right hand.
I had a little music expereince on wind instruments so my theory was ok. I knew what songs I wanted to play but it is taking me ages to get my right hand to remember the rhythms I need to approximate the way i hear the song in my head or on the CD player.
Now I know a few rhythms (and if I'm reminded of them can maintain them throughout a song) I keep falling back on one particular one. I get out of that habit and start a new one on another particular rhythm.
The way I've both learned the rhythms AND learned to vary them according to a song is by playing with other people who have a better right hand than me...:)