low g or high g...mmmm...

jonnyonauke

Reaction score
hi, i'm sure this has been discussed many times, but....

i'm pretty new to the ukulele, but have been playing guitar for many years.
my concert uke has a high g, which i find a bit disconcerting after playing the guitar, but i really wanted to go hi-g as it seemed to be the 'proper' tuning, and i wanted to get some transcriptions for uke which i pesumed would be in this tuning.

however i'm coming across a lot of music and players using low g, so now i'm doubtful - it would be easier to play for me too..

so any thoughts, recommendations, what do you prefer?

thanks
Jonny

I am a long time guitar player and now have moved full time to Uke.

Started with a Baritone and thought my daughters high-g soprano was odd

Then got a tenor and decided the High-g is the coolest thing and now it sounds so right

Now I am thinking a Concert is more my speed.

Guitar now seems big and harsh sounding.

Never thought I would be a Uke player, but man do I love it.

Two ukes, one of each. Unless you're a strummer and then high G is the way to go IMO. I'm a beginner but I need high G when playing melodies such as Over The Rainbow, Waltzing Matilda or Cheating Heart but prefer low G for Ashoken Farewell, Wildwood Flower and a few gospel tunes I noodle around with.

Jude

That Aldrine guy uses reentrant tuning and it hasn't hampered his solo fingerstyle stuff.
No kidding. There are some pretty cool four-finger roll things that you can only get thru reentrant tuning - those "inside out" patterns if that makes sense. And when I grow up, I shall have one of each. The blues really benefit from a low G.

Depends on the music you'll be playing. If I'm playing old country blues or bluegrass, the low- G is necessary. But on so many other types of music, the reentrant G sounds wonderful.

Yep. 2 ukes.

q: Low G or high G?
a: Yes!

I play both. It depends on what I want out of the song.