Perception of the Baritone

Pilothawk

Reaction score
As an absolute noobie, I freely admit this question is posed in complete ignorance. I posed a question to the lady who is founder of our local uke club as to which baritone she thought I should get and how much I should expect to pay for something decent. Her response is that she considers the baritone to be a guitar and not a uke.

Does a divide exist between those who play the baritone and those who play the conventionally tuned ukes? Are baritones less "welcome" at uke player gatherings.

Mahalo nui loa.

Sounds like a personal prejudice to me, I've never heard anything like that before.

Personal choice but growing up in the islands to ME personally a baritone is borderline abomination the soprano being the 'ukulele in it's purest form with the concert being acceptable, and the tenor pushing it a tad. I do own a semi baritone my Doane Clone (Skylark) which I actually like but body size more a tenor so maybe a super tenor a better description but play my sopranos and concerts the most. If I want bigger than a tenor I go guitar.

Last edited:
I grew up in a house with a baritone, I had no prejudice. When I started playing uke as an adult, (and acquiring all the sizes) I had to complete my "family" with a baritone. I string mine Gcea to simplify chord shapes. It is one of my favs, 2nd only to my soprano. I also have a banjolele and a sopranino, besides tenors and concerts. All sizes and shapes for different sounds and different songs. The more ukes, the better.

To me, they're all ukuleles. I enjoy that The Ukulele Orchestra of Great Britain lists a guitar as a bass ukulele. :)

She's mean. Start a new uke club. Serve brownie squares on tooth picks and you'll be fine.

Seriously though, I would be put off by a comment like that. Does that mean she doesn't want one at the uke club?

I agree, Baritones are ukes too. (sounds like a great bumper sticker)