PDA

View Full Version : Your favorite Ukulele artist

therimidalv
05-12-2008, 03:21 PM
I'm just starting out on the uke, and I love it, but i really what you're guys' opinions about your favorite ukulele players so i know some good uke music to learn to play to. Currently I'm constantly listening to Israel Kamakawiwoʻole, which i think is incredible but I'd also love to hear what other players i should listen too. :music:

Keonikapila
05-12-2008, 03:34 PM
Troy Fernandez (Ka'au Crater Boys) was the reason I started playing the uke. I also listen to a lot of Herb Ohta Jr and of course Jake Shimabukuro. If you haven't heard any of Jake's early stuff from when he was with Pureheart you should check it out...also, they released one cd as Colón which was pretty good too

thejumpingflea
05-14-2008, 04:25 PM
Herb Ohta Jr. and Daniel Ho are great. As well is Jake Shimabukuro and James Hill. Lyle Ritz is up there too. My number one favorite is probably Herb Ohta-San. You can't beat the master. :worship:

UkuLeLesReggAe
05-14-2008, 06:34 PM
I hardly know any lmao.. So i guess it would be bruddah iz - whoo@!

tad
05-14-2008, 06:48 PM
Some listed above, plus:

Cliff Edwards
Dent May and his Magnificent Ukulele
Ukulele Girls
Koenig Sister
Folk Uke

Jacman Rasta Bicycle
05-14-2008, 06:56 PM
the above mentioned uku players are all terrific, allow me to add a few to the list:

"Heinous" Rynes
Uncle Moe Keale
Brook Adams

hawaiianmusiclover06
05-14-2008, 06:59 PM
My favorites have to be in this order:

Herb Ohta, Jr.
Daniel Ho
Israel Kamakawiwo'ole
Weldon Kekauoha
Bryan Tolentino
Jake Shimaburukuro

Alana

tad
05-14-2008, 07:07 PM
"Heinous" Rynes

I like the cut of your jib, sir.

Kekani
05-14-2008, 07:42 PM
Peter Moon, Eddie Kamae, Ledward Kaapana (yes, he plays `ukulele), Benny Chong, Byron Yasui, Bill Tapia,

rayan
05-14-2008, 10:01 PM
lol no one even mentioned Aldrine.

Plainsong
05-14-2008, 11:12 PM