Books, DVDs

amie

Reaction score
Does anyone own these books and would you recommend them?:

http://www.amazon.com/Learn-Play-Fi...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1265579694&sr=1-1

--- I understand that for this book, you would need a little music reading knowledge, which is something I lack

http://www.amazon.com/Blues-Ukulele...=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1265579757&sr=1-1

I am a beginner who has been playing guitar sporadically for many years. I enjoy fingerstyle because it's nice and relaxing to play late into the night and I also like traditional blues. I'm looking for a book that is appropriate for a beginner, but not too basic or too complicated although I am up for a challenge.

Also, if anyone could recommend a DVD, that would be great.

I just bought this off of amazon and was not impressed:
http://www.amazon.com/Complete-Ukul...ef=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dvd&qid=1265580081&sr=8-1

The guy seems to have a tendency to talk on and on about the most basic things, but then once it gets more difficult, he doesn't bother to slow down.

Hello, I don't post often. However, I own all three of the books/CDs/DVDs you mention. We are not usually connected to the internet and when we are we are at landline speeds and therefore cannot watch any YouTube or online videos. I hear there is a wealth of info out there if you are able to access it.

Mark Nelson's book is great. All pieces have music notation and tabs with chord names above and suggested chord form usage in the Performance Notes associated with each piece. It is not strictly blues oriented although you will learn some good good techniques and riffs that you can apply to blues and there is one challenging (at least it was for me), snazzy blues piece. I think it gives you a good foundation. Working with John King's and others' fingerpicking tabs is now is much less challenging for me. Comes with CD so you can hear what it should sound like. Highly recommended.