What Do You Like Most About Playing The Uke?

mangorockfish

Reaction score
I've been a drummer all my life and the suggestions I would make in bands that I played in, were never taken seriously whether it be song selection, arrangements, etc. With the uke, I am the boss. I can play the songs I want, if my capability is there and I can play them the way I want. I also like the fact that you can get a high quality instrument for a fraction of the cost of a drumset and the portability is fantastic. I just wish I could find an open mic night somewhere around Little Rock.:D

I'm a drummer too, and the self-contained in-control aspect is a HUGE win for me as well, along with portability. Plus it's just plain fun.

I love the relaxation that comes along with it. Thats what first struck me when I thought about it.

The ease of learning and the portability.

I'd have to say its charm. There is just something so "charming" about something so simple and fun that can sound so nice.

My background is classical guitar, which is a "serious" instrument. Many pieces/arrangements are quite complicated and difficult to play.

On the uke, even "dumbed down" and simplified classical arrangements can be fun to play and sound so utterly charming. :)

op - you're in little rock? awesome. i went hsu in arkadelphia for 2 years with lots of trips to little rock, where i have a lot of friends. right now im right across the river in mississippi. there's even less of a chance for open mic nites here. fortunately, ill be moving (back) to la in a couple of months, so that'll be a bit easier.

ive played guitar forever and drums for a couple of years. what i like about uke is :