Ukulele Baby-ing

SamUke

Reaction score
I have been playing the uke for a little while off/on, I'm curious about those who play other instruments; do other people baby their instruments as much as we baby our ukes? It seems like people get upset, myself included, when our ukes even lightly touch a hard surface; more time fretting over little stuff? Not poking anybody just curious if it is some form of uke insanity. When I see other guitarist, mandolin, or whatever I always see a used and abused instrument.

I baby my gear by my very nature. I have had guitars for years without a scratch, same with ukes, but I gig and I travel and take instruments with me. I am also a photographer and carry cameras and lenses, too. Again, not a scratch.

I do my best to take good care of everything I own... even my shoes. But you know, in the course of heavy playing and gigging, stuff does get worn, scratched, whatever. If you were to closely examine any of the instruments I own, you'd find some kind of wear, whether it's belt rash and fret wear on my electric guitar, or fine scratches in the varnish on my 200 year old fiddle, or marks from strumming on my acoustic guitar and ukes. But I'm not careless, and nothing has any horrific structural damage or ugly marring. I don't allow the thought of scratching up an instrument to inhibit my playing.

That said, I don't warm up my car before sticking instruments in it. I don't sleep with any of my instruments... they are tools of the trade. But if I end up having to stop somewhere while travelling, particularly with some of my higher end instruments (violin, Ramirez guitar) I do not leave them in the car.

Not that I don't care about my uke, but I don't baby it at all. Wear marks, scratches, etc, I consider "love bites." Of course, this is coming from someone who backed over his first uke in his car one fine morning, so...