Converting a classical guitar to a Uke

reckomstance

Reaction score
In order to practice playing Uke, I removed the 4,5,6 strings from my full sized classical and replaced the 4th string with a small nylon string, for high G tuning. I capoed at the 4th fret, and tuned up to standard Uke tuning. This allowed me to get started before getting a real Uke, and it actually sounded very nice. Since the guitar has 12 frets to the body, I was limited to only 8 frets clear.

Now I'm thinking (which has been known to cause trouble). :cool: There's a 3/4 size Yamaha classical for about $100 that sounds perky and plays like slicking hot butter. It's scale is about 21", which would allow me to capo at the 2nd fret and have 10frets clear. I believe this might make a fine tenor Uke, and double as a campfire guitar, by changing 3 strings.

Am I too far outside the box on this thinking? I'm a big boy, I can take it so tell me what you think. I'm new to Ukes and don't understand.............almost everything. :D

Now I'm thinking (which has been known to cause trouble). :cool: There's a 3/4 size Yamaha classical for about $100 that sounds perky and plays like slicking hot butter. It's scale is about 21", which would allow me to capo at the 2nd fret and have 10frets clear. I believe this might make a fine tenor Uke, and double as a campfire guitar, by changing 3 strings.
If you want a uke, just buy a uke. Who needs a "campfire guitar" when you can just take your uke with you camping? :)

I admire the thinking, but I would recommend waiting for the ukulele instead. Ukuleles space their strings further apart from each other than guitars. For $100 you could get a decent ukulele to get you started instead of the Yamaha classical. The best thing to do is to just buy an ukulele and save yourself the trouble.