Does anyone have an easy way to find keys?

ainokeato

Reaction score
I have the Solo DVD up at the store, it looked like every progression you played the last chord to be played was they key of the song. Is this true for everything or is there a set method?

So say a progression was Am F C would C be the key or?

xD I'm a beginner in the mechanics of music, never had any classes prior to picking up the uke so I'm new to the fancy mumbo jumbo.

Most likely, C would be the key, but not because C is the last chord. Because you have the root, the 4th and the relative minor of C.

Read Howlin Hobbit's Cheater Theory for more info...

Here's a handy chart I found in a simple web search. As you can see, the C, F and Am could indicate a key of C, or F, or Am, or Dm.
key-chord-chart.jpg

Last edited:
There are a few pieces of music theory that are very useful.
Knowing what the I,IV,V chords are, can open up the door for you to learn new songs, play along with others and/or cd's.
If you don't learn any other theory, learn what chords are in what keys.

so, captain love handles, could i take a song where the first chord (if i only have the chords) is c, is that the key, and i could use your chart to make the chords easier by transposing them??
just wondering as i did that when i first started playing guitar years ago. :smile:

Under most curcumstances - yes.

But remember that some songs and progressions don't start with the I chord, or end on the I chord - just "most"... in western music at least (IV, V, I for example). You will get tricked from time to time, but trying the relative IV V chords along the way usually dials it in.