Banjo uke needs new head

rlee

Reaction score
Hello all,
Forgive the uninformed terminology I will likely use; I am a musician but am not a ukulele player. But I was told recently by a demonstrator at the Hohner booth (Winter NAMM show 2010 in Anaheim) that you are really great people and would be able to help me find a replacement part for an antique instrument.

My wife's great aunt owns what I believe is called a "banjo ukulele". Our cat recently knocked it off the top of a wardrobe and the head under the strings was punctured. I've searched the LP percussion site but cannot find anything that would fit. Please help!

I'll upload a picture of the instrument. I laid it next to a tape measure so you could gauge its size. (The name "Amelia" is scratched into the headstock; that is my wife's great aunt, who is currently 102!)

The head measures about 6.25 inches, assuming that it extends all the way under the black metallic retainer ring.

Thank you so much for your expert assistance!
RandyIMG_3946.jpg

Some years ago I restored an ancient mando-banjo. Genuine skin heads are more expensive and not as durable, so I went with a synthetic Remo drum head.

Thank you for the fast response, itsme. I looked at the Remo site and found the same problem we've encountered elsewhere: a 6" drum head size is standard; a 6.25" head size is not.

Part of the problem is that I'm not sure how I would mount the drum head under the metal ring. The current (broken) head has a flange (it's a part of the head material) which protrudes under the metal ring and is secured by the screws that go through the ring into the body. But it appears that drum heads have a sort of metal ring around the outside that would interfere with the current mounting hardware. (I realize the solution may be more readily apparent to someone familiar with stringed instruments; I'm a keyboardist. Sorry to be dense!).

Here's one such choice at the Remo site: