Size Matters ?

44fanatic

Reaction score
I started playing the uke with an Applause soprano (UAE 20). I found it to be a nice little uke once strung with Aquilas. Travelled well, fairly bulletproof and just plain fun to learn and play. Afflicted with UAS, I thought a tenor would be nice and ordered an Ohana. Turns out the Ohana I had in mind was hard to get (6 months for it to arrive) so while waiting I bought an Applause tenor. I played it a few times and went back to mostly playing the soprano. It just "felt" better. It was easier to play it seemed.

Anyway, after a week with the Ohana, I picked up the soprano and now it feels awful. My forearm cramped up from playing the smaller instrument. The Applause tenor now feels fine.

Does anyone else have trouble switching back and forth between the two or is it me?

I used to have the same problem. I started on soprano and eventually tried a tenor. I had a really hard time switching between them, until I got a concert. The concert is just a really nice middle ground for me, and just felt right. Now, with that being my main player, I can float in between all 3 sizes without a hitch.

I play three sizes of guitar, three sizes of ukes, and three sizes of the mandolin family on a regular basis. Yep. It's sometimes hard to adjust - particularly if I ignore one of them for a few days. You get used to it it though. Like anything else in music, it takes practice.

So swap them out often and it will start to feel natural to switch.

I started with a tenor cuz I thought my hands would be too big for the narrower frets, then went to concert then soprano without much problem. I think it depends on what you play though. I can strum ok on all sizes, but sopranos are tougher for picking.

i switch between 2 scale sizes of bass, classical electric and acoustic guitar, 3 sizes of uke and mandolin. i find i need to thrash them for 5 minutes before my fingers remember the distances.