Converting an Epiphone Mandobird IV to a solid-body ukulele

Nuprin

Reaction score
Just bought myself a used Mandobird on eBay for cheap for the sole purpose of trying to turn it into a solid-body uke.

I've seen a couple of videos on YouTube of people who have done this. One video in particular outlines what he did in order to make the conversion. He states in it that a lot of patience and tweaking of the individual bridge screws was needed to get the intonation on.

Just wondering if anyone has any suggestions to help cut down the tweaking time as I've never done it before. For instance, if I'm finding the notes sharp at the 12th fret, should I be loosening bridge or tightening? Do the individual allen wrench screws on each bridge do anything other than adjust the action?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

Epiphone Mandobird iv as 'Ukiebird', although it seems to have many different names.

Hi,

Just looking around and spotted your post.

Changing the intonation is easy (I did mine last night) if the note is sharp at the 12th fret you need to tighten the screw at the saddle, and likewise if it is flat loosen it.

It does make a hell of a difference!

Are you planning on changing your strings? I haven't bothered, I'm thinking that I'll wait and see how it settles down, and I'll probably change them if they start to break.

Jon.

Interesting. Saw one of these at LA Music, in Port Credit, last week. Hadn't considered changing it, but makes sense. Might re-look at it.

Hi,

Just looking around and spotted your post.

Changing the intonation is easy (I did mine last night) if the note is sharp at the 12th fret you need to tighten the screw at the saddle, and likewise if it is flat loosen it.

It does make a hell of a difference!

Are you planning on changing your strings? I haven't bothered, I'm thinking that I'll wait and see how it settles down, and I'll probably change them if they start to break.

Jon.