PDA

View Full Version : If I can play a soprano....



Harry R
02-15-2010, 06:37 AM
can I play a tenor or concert in exactly the same way? Or do they have different tuning/ways of playing them? I'm considering buying a tenor or concert to upgrade from my Mahalo Soprano, but I'd rather not have to be learning a whole new instrument.

SweetWaterBlue
02-15-2010, 06:41 AM
Same tuning, unless you decide to put a low G on your tenor. I often play my soprano Dolphin, my Flea and my Kala tenor one right after the other to see which sounds best on a given song. The fingering remains the same. I never give it a second thought, except that sometimes a pinky-stretcher song is easier to play on the soprano than on the tenor because the frets are closer together.

heyjude
02-15-2010, 08:29 AM
In a word, yes. You can play them exactly as you play your soprano. You've got two options low G or high g. Works the same on all three, soprano, concert and tenor. They are all tuned gCEA (high g) or GCEA (low G).

Jude

uke5417
02-15-2010, 09:09 AM
The chord shapes are the same, but the spacing of the frets is greater and the tension of the strings is higher.

hawaiianmusiclover06
02-15-2010, 09:18 AM
You use the same tuning as your soprano 'ukulele. Soprano, Concert, and Tenors are all tuned to gcea.