Lanikai NK-C

Tigeralum2001

Reaction score
Now that I have played for about 2 months and I have had time to play other ukes, I thought I would offer my first review.

Features: 9/10

• What year was it made? Where was is made? 2009 in Indonesia
  • How many frets? 19
  • Solid-Top? Laminated top? Solid Koa top
  • Any pickups or electronics? No
  • Body and neck woods? Back and sides are "select" Koa, a laminate. Neck is flame mahogony
  • Finish? Glossy
  • Body style? Concert
  • Bridge style? Not sure- straight?
  • Tuners? Gold Grover 18:1 with ebony buttons.
  • Neck/Scale? Neck is skinny (1 1/4" or so at the nut) scale is 15 1/4". Ebony fretboard with abalone fret dots.
  • Any included accessories? No- all sold separately.

Sound: 9.5/10

• How does it suit your music style (and what is that style)? Fine, I have no style I am new to the uke.
  • What amps and effects are you using it with? N/A
  • Is it noisy? On what settings? N/A
  • Rich/Full sound? Bright sound? The sound is really good but mellow.
  • What kind of sounds can the guitar make? How much variety? Guitar! This is a uke!
  • Likes and dislikes? The tone is awesome; it really is! It has a mellow tone and it really sings. My biggest dislike is the volume. It is way too soft. This uke could really use a pick-up.

Action, Fit & Finish: 8/10

• How well was the ukulele set-up at the factory? Action was set low, but not too low (approx 2.5 mm at the 12th fret)
  • Properly bookmatched top? It's about 95% there. There is a knot-like mark toward the base of the top. It is ever so slightly of center. Just enough to be noticeable.
  • Properly routed bridge? As far as I know.
  • Did the ukulele contain any flaws? No.

Reliability/Durability: 10/10

• Will this ukulele withstand live playing? Yes, but it must be amplified.
  • Does the hardware seem like it will last? Yes.
  • Is the finish good enough to last, or does it seem thin and easy to wear off with lots of playing? Seems fine.