Is it okay to leave your uke out of it's case?

gmak

Reaction score
Hey all,

Just recently bought a kala tenor ukulele, and today, a stand for it. Is it alright to leave it on it's stand for extended periods of time (covered with a towel)? I know of a lot of people leave their guitars out. Not so sure about ukuleles though.

Thanks for your input!

People vary in their attitudes to their instruments. Some will swear you shoudl keep them in a humidified case whenever you're not playing them; others like to leave them lying around so they can be picked up at a moment's notice. If you have cats/dogs/small children, or live in an area of extreme humidity changes, keeping it in its case would be safer -- otherwise, there's no real reason not to leave it out. Just my thoughts .... Enjoy your uke!

I would say it all depends on what type of musician you are. Myself, I'm a punk musician, so leaving my uke out of it's case for extended periods of time (without a towel) doesn't bother me. But maybe if you're wanting to play some clear, crisp acoustic stuff, you may want to keep it in as top nick as you can, and only use the stand for on stage, or quick breaks between playing

i do, i leave mine on a hanger and treat it as a decoration for the room,

Yes, assuming there is sufficient humidity in the room and the instrument is not subject to direct sunlight. It will get dustier and drier outside, so clean it and oil the fretboard more often. But yes, it's okay. Guitar stores have their instruments on display for months, even years at a time.

PS. It's is a contraction of it is. Expanded, your question reads, "Is it okay to leave your uke out of it is case?" Which makes no sense. You probably meant to write its, the possessive form of the pronoun - as in his, hers and its. No apostrophe is used in the possessive.