Walnut Concert

ksquine

Reaction score
Hi All

Here's some photos of my new construction.....a walnut concert size. It really sounds great so far. I used the Martin style concert plans from Elderly Instruments.
Walnut top, back, sides
Mahogany neck with rosewood headstock veneer
Ivoroid binding, wipe-on poly finish
This is my first time using the wipe-on poly and I thought it was great!! So quick and easy. I did have a problem on the rosewood though...it just stayed soft after several days. I ended up putting shellac on those parts

Attachments

• IMG_0226.jpg
    IMG_0226.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 128
  • IMG_0232.jpg
    IMG_0232.jpg
    56.7 KB · Views: 127
  • IMG_0221.jpg
    IMG_0221.jpg
    81.4 KB · Views: 137
  • IMG_0235.jpg
    IMG_0235.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 109
Wow, I never see me getting to that point.

I'm not sure....I haven't played a koa concert like this before. It has good volume and sustain with a sweet mellow tone. It doesn't bark like a mahogany uke but it will be heard!!
The best part was the walnut was given to me by a friend. One nice board he had left over that was JUST enough for the body. I put the purfling on there to hide that the top was a hair short lol. Maybe someone will give me some koa and I'll build a twin to compare

It's gorgeous! I'm going to concentrate some more on construction before I get into the bling. Yours looks great. That's a heck of a tall saddle you've got in there--is the action a little high as a result?

Very nice, I like the rosette and bound fretboard.

Sweet! I have got to get some walnut.