Uke Newbie...

Tudorp

Big guy with a lil' uke..
UU VIP
Reaction score
Hey folks.. I am a newbie to the Ukulele. I played a Ric BASS for years, many years ago, but gave it up about 10 years ago. I don't play in a band, and playing a bass around a camp fire just doesn't do it for me, lol..

Anyway, I have always loved the Ukulele and always wanted one. I bought a cheapie Kona and broke the tuning nut pretty quick. I loved it though, and decided to take the Uku more seriously, and just purchased a Uhano SK-35. I was on the phone talking with the guy there about changing out the friction tuner for a geared tuner. I was shocked to hear from him that I didn't have to have that done, because the new SK-35 already has a geared tuner. Does anyone have a new one that came with a geared tuner? Any pics of it? I should have mine within the week, but would really like to hear for sure that it will have the geared tuner, and what kind is it, and how it works with the SK-35?

I am really looking forward in diving in more with the Uke. It is really fun to play, and makes people smile. I am a VERY large man at 6'5" tall and weigh about 600lbs, and when people see someone my size jamin on such a small "guitar", people just smile. I like that.. hahha..

Anyway.. Glad to find you folk..

Tudorp....first, welcome to UU! You've come to the right place.

I just checked Ohana'a website, and it showed the SK-35 as having friction tuners. Maybe your dealer knows something I don't, or maybe Ohana has made a change that isn't yet reflected on their website.

I did too, and saw the same thing. The guy I talked to on the phone said all the on line pictures are with the friction tuners, because none of them have been updated, but the new ones have geared tuners. I was just curious if anyone that has theirs in their hands can confirm that, and how they liked them.. And thanks for the welcome..

Welcome, welcome Tudorp,