Wrist and finger pain and stiffness

The Gunrunner Rimbaud

Reaction score
I've been practicing for a few months now and just the past week or so I've developed a pain starting from my left ring finger shooting down to my wrist and forearm. As you can imagine it really hampers my ability to practice as well as do other things (I'm wincing as I type this). What should I do to:

1. Alleviate the pain
2. Keep it from developing again (i.e. in regards to my playing technique).
3. Find a temporary stress outlet to replace what the uke has become for me.

I'm pretty desperate. I've tried to scale back practicing, but it's just getting worse and class is coming up on Monday.
Thank you.

GR

You might want to take a look at the position of your left wrist when you play. Are you bending it a lot? If so, try to reposition your ukulele so that you can keep your wrist straight while playing. That usually involves the ukulele's neck to be angled more vertically, and the elbow moved forward. Think of the position classical guitar players use. It will take the stress off of your wrist. Also, try playing in several short sessions instead of one long session. I found in the beginning, I would be frozen in one position for a long time. When I moved from that position, I discovered stiffness and pain that I was not aware of while playing. So, after each song, swing your arms around and make sure you are not getting stiff.

–Lori

1. You might try to loosen up a little. You may find that you don't have to clamp as hard as you think to fret successfully. When I started playing, I found that my hole body was tensed unnecessarily.
2. There are exercises that I use to relieve the tension ..... stretching with fingers extended perpendicular to the arms and rotating.
3. See a doctor. Don't think the amount of pain your describing is normal.

wrist pain