New guy with Low G vs. High G questions

UkeDan77

Reaction score
I am a newbie here (actually this is my first post :D ). Anyway, about 3 weeks ago my friend decided that he wanted to purchase a guitar and thinking it would be fun to help him pick one out, I decided I'll go with him to the local Sam Ash store. While he was searching the guitars, I saw an area of ukuleles with about 20 different kinds. I thought they were so cute and started picking them up and strumming them (having no clue what i was doing..haha). A store employee came over and picked one up and began playing it for me and I was hooked. After 30 minutes of trying to convince my friend to get a new uke instead of a guitar, i was unsuccessful. He picked out his guitar and we left. All night I couldn't get the ukulele out of my mind and decided to go back the next morning to buy one for me...which I did. I ended up getting the Kala Travel Tenor ukulele (KA-SSTU-T). At the time I thought all ukuleles were the same so I didn't really put any research into buying one, just got the one that the store employee suggested for me. Now, I know better :) However, I must say that I am really happy with mine (although I am already looking for my next but I told myself I would wait 6 months before upgrading).

Anyway my question is that I have been teaching myself using Hal Leonard's Ukulele Method Book 1 and I've found this to be incredibly useful. I've already learned Ode to Joy, Twinkle-Twinkle, Oh Suzanna! and Frere Jacques..LOL. :drool:

The other night I began playing a song by ear and realized that my ukulele is strung High G so I am unable to hit some of the lower toned notes. I am now contemplating having it restrung in low G so that I can hit some of the lower registers. Being that I am not a singer and I am not a real fan of accompanianment, my ultimate goal is to play melodies with ukulele (I believe this is called finger plucking or something).