I have a soprano, concert or tenor next?

megamatt

Reaction score
I'm really looking for projection and volume. After a lot of research and help from folks here on the board I've come to the decision of the koa pili koko. It's gotten good reviews and is in a nice place price wise, especially since I'm a total noob. So back to the topic, do the concert and tenor have a huge difference in tone, and am I losing volume or projection going with a concert, and is a tenor just bordering on being a mini guitar. All info is appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

I have not played a Koa Pili Koko, so I can't offer any advice on those topics. But I can tell you that I personally don't feel that a tenor is just bordering on being a mini guitar. Of course, everyone's got their opinions on it, but tenors are ukuleles.

They sound like ukuleles to me. Maybe not as ukulele-ish as a soprano, but they still sound like ukuleles.

Have you played a tenor, or will this be a blind purchase? If you've played a tenor before and liked the size, then I'd say forget what people say about tenors and play what you want.

If it's a blind purchase, then I just hope you like tenors as much as I and many others do.

I have not gotten to play a tenor, nor do I really have access to anywhere with any good selection. As I've stated before I don't have any real preconceived notions about ukes, I'm a yankee and a piano player, so I have some serious opinions about pianos, but I'm just in the uke thing for a fun time at the beach/campfire, so if you think a tenor would be good for this then I'm all for it.

Oh and thanks, as always, for the reply.

On the subject of volume and projection -

I played a KoAloha soprano that was just as loud, if not louder, than my Lanikai tenor. It really depends on the ukulele. Volume and projection depends on a lot of factors.