My Uke Build #2

BobN

Reaction score
I want to try out a tenor, so I decided to build one.

The set is bubinga back and sides and ebony fingerboard and bridge from Hana Lima 'Ia.

The wood is very good quality. I am an amateur, so I don't use fancy wood.

The rosette is paua abalone. If I ever do a shell rosette again, I will get some extra pieces. It took some time to try to match up the grain lines of the shell.
I added black-white-black purfilling to accent the rosette. I actually started with black-white, but I had cut the rosette channel a hair over-sized so I ended up with b-w-b.

This top is from a red cedar shingle that I found in my barn.

Gluing the back braces. You can also see the headplate being glued on the neck. The headplate is a bubinga-curly maple that I glued together.

The sides in a mold that I built.

Now I need to do some research on plate tuning ukulele tops.

Lookin' great, Bob--that rosette is gorgeous. I really like the idea of using the old cedar shingle for the top, too. Ever since I started building, I can't so much as look at a fallen log in the woods without wondering whether a nice set of back/top/sides is just waiting in there to be set free.

Beautiful rosette Bob!
An old shingle ...I love it! Nice piece of wood.

Thanks.

My house was sided with cedar shingles around 1963. There was a bundle of leftovers in my barn.

I'll post more pictures when I get something more done on it.

Looks good Bob.
Matching the pearl grain? Who does that? I try to get the colors to match pretty well but beyond that, there is so much going on with paua, I don't bother.
One tip to prevent glue bleed into the end grain of the rosette is to give the channel a couple of coats of finish before inlaying.