Starting to gig with your uke

the52blues

Reaction score
Hi there. I'm a seasoned pro when it comes to guitar, bass, banjo and trumpet. I've played in bands and I've played lots of solo gigs. I play covers and original material. Now.....I bought a couple ukes a few weeks ago and can't put them down! I've searched the web and downloaded lots of tunes to play. I have yet to actually use one live. I have not even gotten to a uke club yet. Playing with others sounds like fun so I do need to get out and try it there first I guess. When I first bought the ukes I envisioned a few ideas of where to play my gigs but after years of playing guitar the uke still sounds a little thin as a solo instrument. What I think I will do is throw in a few uke tunes in the middle of a set to see how it goes first as opposed to trying to do a whole show with just a uke or two. Is that how some of you guys got started? There are two ways I thought of using the uke - as a strummer and sing along AND as a solo chord/instrumental ala James Hill (OK I'll likely never sound that good but hey, you gotta start somewhere!)

Throwing the uke into the mix is the way to go. It lets your audience know you're multi-talented. It also demonstrates that you think about how a particular song might sound best.