Reviews of the Kala KA-KTG-CT (cedar top, koa, all-gloss tenor)?

GVlog

Reaction score
Has anyone played this ukulele and can share their opinions of its tone and how it compares to other tenors that they have?

I saw this video dated August 29 on YT. Is it the same one? I assume they were a limited edition until December.

Never played, but damn does it sound/look cool.

Yes. It's just too hard to judge and generalize an ukulele's tone from a video.

There was a $400 ukulele that I thought might have the tone I was looking for, until I heard one played for me yesterday. It actually was nice but it wasn't quite what I wanted. I haven't found the KA-KTG-CT at any of the local dealerships.

I looked hard and long at this ukulele and the Kala acacia tenor model on youtube. Ultimately, I purchased a Kala lacewood with spruce top tenor package from MGM. The high gloss and abalone purfling on the koa/cedar are indeed lovely, but I had concerns about damaging it.
I'm new to the ukulele, so I can't give a legit review yet, but I am 1000 percent satisfied/thrilled after 2 weeks of learning to play. My uke is beautiful, sounds fantastic, loud and clear(!), and stays in tune. What more can I ask? Well, actually, that cowboy motif Fluke looks kinda... like the dreaded UAS.

Ultimately, I purchased a Kala lacewood with spruce top tenor package from MGM.

Yes. Those are interesting as well and I understand that they are all-solids. Lacewood is supposed to be a good alternative tonewood. I saw the videos of these ukuleles in high-G and low-G tuning. Interesting to note that they have ebony nuts and saddles. Am wondering why Kala chose that material for the lacewood models.

If industry practices are the same with Kala, I'm guessing that the laminated koa back and sides of the KA-KTG-CT have a core of meranti (Southeast Asian Mahogany).