Ukes on a Plane?!

cMejilla

Reaction score
Hey everybody

I'm wondering if anyone has encountered any problems with bringing an 'ukulele onto an airplane while traveling. More specifically, traveling internationally. I've looked up some information about carrying on instruments in general and its usually not allowed or I'd have to ... check in the uke in a case :eek:. I'm studying abroad for a year and I wouldn't want my uke destroyed without mercy in the depths of a plane and I especially wouldn't survive an entire year without playing the uke.:(

Any insights would be greatly appreciated

I just made a trip to Taiwan with my Kanile'a super soprano two weeks ago. I have a wheeled small suitcase/bag and the uke as a carry on. I took a Northwest flight to LA and a EVA Air flight to Taiwan. The only time anyone from either airline commented on the uke either direction was at the EVA Air checkin counter at LA heading toward Taiwan, where the lady said the gate agent might ask me to check the instrument. But she added that it wasn't likely and no one ended up even looked at my uke case. Just don't bring any attention to it and you should be fine. Worst case scenario ask them to put it in the coat closet for you.

During the trip I noticed several people walking around at the airport with a guitar case on their backs. I don't think they'd let anyone check it at the gate.