Any advantage to not using a strap?

scottie

Reaction score
In your opinion, is there any real advantage to playing a ukulele without a strap? If you feel that there is, specifically what is it?

I have straps on all my ukes. I suppose if I wanted to play somebody else's uke, I'd have a lot of trouble.
Also, it's going to affect resale. I'm sure people have passed on ukes I've sold because they don't want the strap button. Overall though, every uke I've put up on the marketplace has sold sooner or later.

I'm new to the uke, though I've played guitar for years. With my soprano Flea, I personally like the freedom of being able to play without a strap--just pick it up & start strumming or picking. I feel like a strap is unneccessary & would just get in the way. If I had a larger uke maybe I'd feel differently, though.

With my soprano Flea, I personally like the freedom of being able to play without a strap--just pick it up & start strumming or picking.

Bingo!

Yes, it's a more "traditional" way to play it. And a more traditional look. But for me, the big selling point of going strapless is the convenience. You grab it and you play. No fiddling around with straps/cords/picks/etc. Some might not find that to be that much of an advantage, but I sure do.

JJ

For me it was a safety issue as I work in a care facility and I need to be able to respond quickly "if something happens" with one of my residents. Not having a strap also prevents me from carrying it around (through sheer laziness!) and inadvertantly whacking someone.

Does anyone feel that it's better from a technical/sound production view to play without a strap? Can you do anything musically better without than with? Does it increase your mechanical advantage for fretting, picking, strumming?

Does having to actually hold the instrument in any way enhance your ability to play the ukulele?