Koa build

lefty dan

Reaction score
So Im a new builder. Done about five or six now. All sopranos and now Im starting a concert. Its a koa concert. I had to make new jigs and buy a blue print from Hana lama.
Today I bent the sides on my new jig. They bent like butter! Tomorrow I will work on it some more but so far so good.
Just excited that things are working out and wanted to share.
Dan
koauke006.jpg

koauke012.jpg

Last edited:
Looks awesome, Dan. Nice job bending that koa! I'm really looking forward to watching this one get built.

Looks nice! Nice bender too btw... also interested to know if you are using a heat blanket or bulbs

koauke018.jpg

koauke017.jpg

"when your bending are you using a heat blanket or light bulbs ? "

Im using light bulbs. See attached photo. I used the same type LB jig for the sopranos I built and it worked good. I think the key is to work quickly. I dont know how hot the bulbs get but here is what I use.
Two 150W clear bulbs. I plug the thing in and wait about five min. It gets so hot I cant keep my fingers on the aluminum. If I was to guess Id say maybe 300 deg.?? Ive bent Mahogany and walnut in this type jig without problems and now koa. So for me its working. I never leave the room when the thing is plugged in just in case of something catching fire!!

I woke up this morning and snuck outside in my garage to check the uke build. I took it out of the mold and its holding together. Im still happy.

I will post photos along the way. Thats half the fun for me.
Regards
Dan

Last edited:
Dan I don't mean to hit with a bunch of dumb questions. But I have bean using a hot pipe and it has bean working but i keep getting some slight waviness in my sides. So I was thinking of building a gig like yours with bulbs. And I was wondering if you soak your sides or just spray them ?

Thanks Perry