Never played one before - Now I need to perform at a wedding!

Brit

Reaction score
Calling all people brandishing a ukelele who may be able to help.

My wife brother is getting married on a beach in a couple of months and they have just asked me to perform the classic somewhere over the rainbow - Iz version.

Now Im an average guitarist but a complete novice ukelele player in fact I havent ever touched one before.

Now i need to buy a nice one that will sound good on the day. I know about the lower g higher g arguments, i know that wood is important.

Really , I need someone to give me some advice! HELP!

Best thing to do would be go to a shop and try some out. So you can at least get a feel for what size you would like to get. Coming from a guitar you would probably want a Tenor size, but that is just a general staement. There is a list of shops in the US in this thread.

How much $$$ are you looking to spend?

A great beginner ukulele is the Kala Spruce. I'd choose Tenor if I were you, more space for your fingers. It's probably my favorite price/performance uke out there under $300, though I haven't got the extensive... cough UAS cough... experience with other ukes that some folks here have. Your best bet is to contact Music Guy Mike on his ebay store and ask him which of his models will suit you the best. Idk if he still sells Kala, but like I said, I'm partial to that one.

I would second the tenor recommendation, since you are coming from the guitar. In addition, I would go with a low G, since that is what Iz sang the song with, and its also easier for a guitar player to pick it up. My high G soprano and concert drove my guitar playing son crazy (he kept running out of low notes when he tried to pick) , but he has no trouble playing the low G tenor.

Here's a decent (ignore the excess reverb) tutorial of it the way Iz played it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fAGOWxtxXfI

Last edited: