Figuring neck angle with a spanish heel

thistle3585

Reaction score
I am thinking of building a tenor with a Spanish heel which I've never done before. I'd like to have a 15' induced arch on the top. I figure that I will need to add in a bit of neck angle to account for the radiused top. I just wondered how other builders account for the arched top when figuring the neck angle. My drawings say a one degree angle will suffice but I wasn't sure how much compression to expect from the strings that may affect it. Also, does anyone do any sort of raised extension to bridge the space between the fretboard and body?

Hi Thistle,
Are you going to do an arch, or a dome? My first half dozen "ukes were built with a spanish heel and a 25' longitudinal arch. The first few I radiused the upper top brace before installing it and then just sanded a small flat spot on the soundboard where the fret board extension goes. It's really a very small amount to sand. Lately I have been leaving the upper top brace flat (not radiused) and then press it in to the top on a radiused work board on the go bar deck. Doing it this way has required no adjustment to the sound board or fret board extension, so far. Using an arch, I haven't found the need for adjusting neck angle beyond zero, because the arch stays straight.Estimating string compression and amount that the belly rises before it's built is beyond my comprehension at this point.

I don't know if either one these is the best method, but it's worked for me. Hopefully one of the pros will chime in with their experience.

good luck,
Steve

I'm not sure what you mean by and arch or a dome, but the braces will have a 15' radius to them prior to gluing them. I call it an induced arch. Too many luthier terms for the same thing. :)

Thistle,