GVerb/Audacity help!

Deets

Reaction score
Bear with me, I'm quite new to the whole recording thing...

So, I just downloaded Audacity, and have been playing around with it for a bit and I can't seem to make Gverb sound...well...not horrible. How do I tweak it to add a bit of reverb to my track without it sounding completely weird?

I don't use Audacity much but I tried it out with GVerb on a wav file of my wife singing. The first settings list gives you a slight amount of reverb.

The second one gives you a bit more without being obnoxious.

Almost a dry signal:

Roomsize 6.5
Reverb Time 1
Damping 0.5
Input bandwith 0.75
Dry signal level -7.98
Early reflection level -36.82
Tail level -44.5

A bit more reverb:

Roomsize 6.5
Reverb Time 1
Damping 0.5
Input bandwith 0.75
Dry signal level -25
Early reflection level -36.0
Tail level -44.5

I found that after using the 2nd setting list shown here, I had to normalize the wav file since it almost disappeared.

You may want to download the VST enabler so you can use some non-destructive reverb like the "Classic Reverb" by Kjaerhus, but I don't want to throw more info your way than you want to hear right now.

----------------EDIT-----------------
I did download the VST enabler and used "Classic Reverb" and unless I am misunderstanding Audacity, it appears that any effects you use are destructive-it permanently changes the wave-no me gusta!

Any full time users of Audacity out there? Is this right? All effects are destructive?

Last edited:
I've never used Audacity (went to school for recording but we only studied Pro Tools) so I'm just guessing. I always create an auxiliary track and insert the reverb plug-in on that. Use any bus as the input. On the audio track, use a send to that same bus. Adjust the level of the send accordingly.

Found some more detailed explanation on GVerb here.

Usage: two approaches

Apply reverb directly to the original track