Strumming

is_stuck

Reaction score
I need to learn how to strum and sing a the same time. I'm so frustrated I'm thinking of selling my uke. I'm 13 and my 9 year old brother can do it and I can't... Help? Thanks.

When I first started playing guitar it was really hard to sing and play at the same time. It took me over a year to be able to do it well! when I started playing uke it just carried over so I didn't have a problem there, but it took tons of practice to get to that point. Just don't give up!

It's just something new to learn, that is all. Even songs I have memorized and can play in my sleep, I can't talk and play them at the same time. Most people learn how to sing over a familiar song, and they time it correctly, after a while, and after learning many different singing songs, you might find that you're able to have a conversation with someone whille strumming a chord progression. The song I started with is "Drop, Baby, Drop" it's really simple chord changes, the words are easy to remember, it's short, and it's really easy to sing and make it sound fine, I think everyone can sing that song. Also check out the classic somewhere over the rainbow, also really easy chord changes, and it's hopefully very familiar! =)

I've been playing guitar for about 9 years, and uke for about 2 weeks. I can only sing while strumming on simple songs. I know it's just because I don't practice that particular activity enough, but the point is, it's just hard for some people. Some seem to have a natural ability to do both, and others, like myself, have trouble doing it with even simple material. You CAN do it though, with practice.

There's plenty songs that sound fine down-up, down-up. Start with some of those, then work your way up.

Yup. Or even just down-down-down-down. Or one single down strum each measure. Or each chord change.

The key is to start as simple as you need to make it in order to pull it off. Walk before you run! It'll come together eventually.

JJ