8 string soloists?

Ebonyks

Reaction score
I've been playing the 8 string ukulele for about 9 months now after moving up from the traditional style for a few years and have been trying to experiment with new finger-picking styles. I have relatively little background in ukulele players, but i've been unable to find many musicians who use it as their solo instrument of choice, it's either used in accompaniment, or in the case of finding players on youtube, just about everything I can find are tech demos for the instrument.

Do many people take the 8 string seriously? If so, who? I'd love to hear some UU'ers ideas and styles to enhance my own comprehension of the instrument.

Here's a bump to find the 8 string pluckers of the world. I can't be the only one here!

Taimane Gardner tears it up on an 8 string. Plug that name into youtube and prepare to be awed, or alternatively you'll have your aspirations dashed :)

(Or do you mean the Tahitian ukulele?)

Taimane Gardner tears it up on an 8 string. Plug that name into youtube and prepare to be awed, or alternatively you'll have your aspirations dashed :)

!@#$%^ I just plugged her name into YouTube, because I'd never heard of her. Excuse me while I pick my aspirations out of the gutter :D

Seriously, she is awesome.

I like to jam 8 string and 4 string, when i play my 8 and go back to the 4 its so easy. I heard some say 8 string is for strumming but its solid picking our any style just got to get use to it.

Actually on her custom Kamaka 8, the E and A strings are single instead of doubled. Other Taimane threads . . .
http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5125
http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=2647
http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1856
http://www.ukuleleunderground.com/forum/showthread.php?t=656

Tahitian Ukulele, here's Ardijah from NZ (2:12 is where da solo starts)

Last edited: