Please help....

ukefett

Reaction score
Ok, so this is nervewracking for me, I've never sang in front of anyone but I am getting tired of just playing chords and doing the little bit of picking I know. So I recorded this little bit of me singing on my phone at lunch and put it in video form so I could get suggestions on how to make my voice people ready. don't be afraid to be harsh, I am looking for as much advice possible, even if that advice is to not sing =) plus I am a big boy, I can take it.
Thanks!
(Oh and sorry if the playing isn't up to snuff either, I've only been playing for about 8 months now and this is the first instrument I have played besides a 3 month stint with the guitar 10 years ago and a little clarinet during my 6th grade year)

I am no singing expert (and cannot stand to listen to myself sing), but I think you sounded good to me. Your singing seemed to go good with the playing and your voice worked good with the song. The playing sounded good too. I would not be embarrassed to sing that in front of friends if I were you. Although, I would assume you may have to sing a bit louder in front of people. I seem to find that the louder I sing the more out of tune I get! I also have the urge to sing when I play so I always go and hide somewhere in order to feed my urge. I tire quickly of just playing the chords or picking. Good luck and happy playing (and singing).

I suggest, first of all, that you take lessons. A professional voice teacher can teach you more than anyone can on a forum.

Good things - your voice has a pleasant natural tone. It's warm, round, and breathy.

Bad things - you're not really singing the melody that Oberst wrote. Your rhythm is mostly what he wrote, but a lot of the notes are not. That's not necessarily a bad thing either. When I cover a song, I try to "own" the song and make it my own. Sometimes this involves changing the melody a little bit. I assume you're trying to sing the melody as Oberst wrote it, however.