Played uke live for the first time.

angelopb

Reaction score
I have been playing uke for 2 months. At the wednesday night open mic(read: unpaid bar band gig), I thought I would play my M32 Flea with the band. But since I am the bass player, I had to figure out a way to introduce the Flea to an audience used to strats, teles, tube amps, keys and bass. This is a blue collar kind of bar. Smokey and loud. Some of the patrons could have teeth that are not in good repair. You get the idea.

I thought we would try "Minnie the Moocher" by Cab Calloway. It's a simple 3 chord (Em--C7--B7) deal that forces audience participation.

So with my bass guitar strapped on I held my little Flea up high ans started the song. Then as it picked up and the other instruments came in, I put it down. There is no volume knob on the pickup or anything so i didn't want it to feedback. So I had to think how I was going to lay it down. I finished the song on my bass.

I think playing the uke this way in a bar band setting gives it legitimacy. Afterwards, I just kept walking around playing the uke and talking to people. I guess we are all uke ambassadors so I was doing my part to spread the stoke.

I would like to play an arrangement of Autumn Leaves in this bar. But small steps. This was my first time playing uke in front of an audience so it was sort of a big deal to me, almost like a confirmation that I am now, a uke player.

Awesome! Sounds like a great way to spread the joy of the ukulele.

I'll bet it brought smiles to the faces in the audience. Probably to those on the stage as well.

Congrats for overcoming whatever held you back before.

Keep uke-in',

Good for you! The bar patrons can be won over. When the Twin Cities Ukulele Orchestra plays it's always fun to watch the faces of the crowd. They have a look of skepticism when we start and are usually won over by the end. I love it when they say, "Wow! You guys are good." Keep us informed of your success.